Summer Gardening Series: The First Harvest

We’ve been getting the herbs from our garden for a couple of weeks now (rosemary, basil, parsley, and mint (yum – fresh mint tea!)), but today we finally collected our first harvest which weighed in at just about 4 lbs! This picture is quite deceptive – it’s a big platter here, not a luncheon-size plate 🙂

The pickling cucumbers hardly made it to this picture – everyone wanted to eat them so fast! Needless to say, they never did make it to dinner time 🙂 Rather, they were consumed right away 🙂 Summer squash and zucchini smelled so fresh, I decided to make my yummy and summery pasta primavera. I usually stick in whatever summer veggies I have on hand there, plus vidalia onion, fresh garlic and basil (from the garden, of course!), and sometimes black olives. This time I also had a little grilled chicken leftover from the 4th, so in it went with the veggies. I also added some kale for extra greens.

I wish you could all smell it! As it was cooking it smelled delicious, and after I shut the veggies off and added fresh garlic and basil, it was heavenly 🙂 Boys just came running from the basement asking what smelled so nice 😉

Topped with fresh asiago cheese and fresh garden basil, this was a hit!

Our hydrangeas are in full bloom right now in the garden, so we’ve been enjoying freshly-cut blooms in the kitchen (this vase) and in the bedroom. They look and smell so nice, it just feels very summery!

About simplemotherhood

My name is Irina. I blog over at https://simplemotherhood.wordpress.com/ about the joys and challenges of motherhood, reading, couponing and saving money, and everything from gardening, healthy living, and frugality to scrapbooking, menu planning, and tea parties. I enjoy decorating, organizing, and as of past year, homeschooling my sweet boys.
This entry was posted in frugal living, gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

