Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

For some reason unbeknownst to me my older son Edward always gets so excited about St. Patrick’s Day. He starts planning out the menu at least a month in advance, ordering delectable dishes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner to match the green theme 🙂 I’m not sure if his fascination with this day started when I first made “green eggs and ham” for breakfast for all of us 3 years ago (he was just under 2 years old) on St. Patrick’s day or 2 years ago, when we went and saw a very crazy St. Patrick’s Day parade, but he’s loved it ever since.

For this year’s celebration he requested for breakfast that we have:

– green eggs and ham (for some reason we didn’t have ham, so I had to substitute with sausage, that went over well anyway). The eggs had a bunch of spinach, green onions and mushrooms mixed in with them to make our breakfast just a little healthier 😉

– shamrock milk

– St. Patrick’s day greenberry muffins (blueberry muffins with green food coloring).

When he found out that what I planned for lunch wasn’t green, he asked what we could have that would be green. I quickly whipped up some sauteed spinach with garlic and pine nuts in olive oil. He thought it was delicious! 🙂 And green!

For dinner this child asked me to make (in addition to the corned beef stew) a green salad with cabbage, cucumber and green peas. He is so excited about it, too, I can’t even describe it!

Oh, and I have to make a disclaimer – none of us are Irish or have Irish ancestors 😉 He just likes the green, I guess, although he keeps saying that red is his favorite color.

How did you celebrate St. Patrick’s Day? Did you cook anything special today?

About simplemotherhood

My name is Irina. I blog over at https://simplemotherhood.wordpress.com/ about the joys and challenges of motherhood, our love of travel and how we manage to travel all around the world with 3 children. I also love reading, saving money, and everything from gardening, healthy living, and frugality to scrapbooking, menu planning, and tea parties. I enjoy decorating, organizing, and homeschooling my children.
This entry was posted in children, menues. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. how cute are these photos…glad you’ve had a good Saint Paddy;s day and nice to come across your posts..Eliza Keating

    Like

  2. Diana P. says:

    That’s so much fun! You’re such a cool mom. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

