Profitable shopping

*UPDATE* If any of you were doing the Loreal Rebate through the Rite Aid deal this week, I have good news for you! Loreal Rebate Center called me back today and said that yes, they indeed will honor those kits bought for $29.99, even though it was a penny short of $30! So, go ahead and submit for your rebate!ย Woo-hoo!

Last night I had a pretty good trip to Rite Aid and to Target. Knowing that the Rite Aid deals this week were not extremely exciting, but also knowing that I only needed about $30 of qualifying products to get to my $20 +UP reward (when you reach $100 in qualifying purchases – before coupons, of course) and that this week is the last week to get that done, I needed to drag myself to Rite Aid. Here’s what I was able to score:

Profit of $24!

Not too bad, right? Considering that after I submit for all the rebates and with all the +UP rewards (Rite Aid store cash money) I received, I made a profit of $24! ($18 out of pocket minus $18 of cash mail-in-rebates, plus $24 extra leftover +UPs!) Not bad. I was mostly there for the Loreal Youth Code kit, which was supposed to be free this week (after all the coupons, +UP rewards, and a couple of rebates available on it). But Rite Aid did something very sneaky (and normally I wouldn’t complain about getting a lower price for something, but here it actually mattered that they did unadvertised sale price of $29.99 on the kit, instead of $34.99 that was in their flyer and on the shelves). I couldn’t believe it when I got home and realized that it rang up at $29.99, because manufacturer’s mail-in-rebate is actually for $10, but for buying $30 worth of the product. So had it not rang up on sale, I would have been fine. But I know I’m not the only one with this issue. So I called Loreal rebate line this morning, and they said they’ve been getting swamped with calls about this and are still deciding what to do (whether they should honor the rebate if it’s 1 penny short of $30 (with tax it’s actually more!)), and will call me back in a couple of days when they know more. So we’ll see – hopefully they’ll decide that they don’t want negative publicity from so many upset people, and just honor the rebates anyway, since it was not an advertised sale anywhere.

I also had to stop at Target. From reading various message boards online, I’ve heard that some of their jeans are on clearance for $4.98 (down from $19.99!) and that you can use the $5 any women’s denim coupon on Target’s website to get the jeans for free. Since you can print two coupons per computer, I got 2 pairs for free! Now, it wasn’t my style, or cut, or even frankly my size, so I might just donate them someplace, if I don’t find some other use for these free jeans ๐Ÿ™‚ Check out the receipt below:

Free jeans, yay!

I love to see those zeros on my receipt ๐Ÿ™‚

I still need to go to Walgreens – I’veย heard there’s a lot of fun clearance going on there right now.

How about all of you? Did you find any good deals this week?

About simplemotherhood

My name is Irina. I blog over at https://simplemotherhood.wordpress.com/ about the joys and challenges of motherhood, reading, couponing and saving money, and everything from gardening, healthy living, and frugality to scrapbooking, menu planning, and tea parties. I enjoy decorating, organizing, and as of past year, homeschooling my sweet boys.
This entry was posted in coupon trips, couponing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Profitable shopping

  1. Katrina says:

    Hi – I subscribed to your email list after discovering it a few days ago. I really enjoy reading your entries. But, may I give a constructive criticism? I must first say that I am a major frugal shopper and love getting things for free, sometimes whether I need the item or not, since I usually donate those things. Yet, I read something on another blog that made me really think about this. The blogger had mentioned that she once really needed diapers and there was a sale at a drugstore that would fit her budget. When she got there, the diapers were all cleaned out and she was told that someone had bought them all and donated them to a shelter. As noble as this was, this blogger, who needed the diapers herself, was now forced to buy a higher priced diaper. So, in reference to the jeans you bought because they were free, maybe those could have been bought by someone who really needed them and whom they would have fit. As I said, I am speaking to myself too, as this was an angle I had not thought of before a few days ago when I would buy something I did not need just b/c I could get it free and I figured I could just donate it.

    • simplemotherhood says:

      Katrina, thanks for your suggestions. I’m glad to see you here on my blog! I completely agree with you about the shelf clearers, and please let me assure you – I’m not one of them! I NEVER clear shelves, because I know there are other people who also want to get in on a deal. The reason I got those jeans is that there were at least two hundred there (if not more), so I figured if I bought two, it wouldn’t even make a dent in their stock. Our Target here is remodeling to accomodate fresh grocery soon (woo-hoo!), so they’ve been doing tons of clearance!

  2. Diana P. says:

    Next time we get together you need to give me a walk-through on couponing! I went to a workshop a couple months ago, but even with that, I’ve struggled to figure it all out and make it work. Would love to learn some of your trade secrets. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. simplemotherhood says:

    Diana, I’d be happy too ๐Ÿ™‚ Especially if you are willing to sit and listen for a long time ๐Ÿ™‚ J/k ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

