Redefining “romantic” (after kids)

Photo credit: Irina Guthrie Photography

When my husband announced that he found a “special” coupon for our Valentine’s day dinner, I was surprised. I have to say, my husband is not usually the one to use coupons (although he does like to save money), so he had to go out of his way to find one. I thought he found it for a special romantic place where we could have ourselves a candle-lit dinner with fancy entrees and just-the-two-of-us-adult-conversation. Imagine my surprise, when he announced that we’d be going to IHOP (neither of us have ever been there).  It turns out, he was able to find a “buy any entree, get one entree free” coupon that was  valid only on Valentine’s day. Both of us had to agree, that for some very strange reason the babysitters are nearly impossible to find specifically on Valentine’s day, even if they are single. It’s still a mystery to me. And since we live so far away from any family, we had no one to leave the kids with anyway. So they had to come with us.  And, alas, not to an upscale adult-only restaurant, like I would have liked for a romantic dinner. So IHOP actually seemed like a very appropriate place, not to mention cheap.

To compensate for the lack of “romantic” in the dinner department, my sweet husband surprised me with a red rose, potted african violet and potted gerbera daisy, as well as a pair of beautiful new earrings, that he picked out all by himself.

This season of life with the kids might require new adjustments in your attitude and the ways you spend time together, but “romantic” doesn’t have to be taken out of your relationship altogether.

How did you spend your Valentine’s Day? Were you lucky enough to find babysitters for your kids? Or are you child-free at this point in your journey?

Either way, Happy Valentine’s Day!

About simplemotherhood

My name is Irina. I blog over at https://simplemotherhood.wordpress.com/ about the joys and challenges of motherhood, our love of travel and how we manage to travel all around the world with 3 children. I also love reading, saving money, and everything from gardening, healthy living, and frugality to scrapbooking, menu planning, and tea parties. I enjoy decorating, organizing, and homeschooling my children.
This entry was posted in couponing, frugal living, life as it comes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

