The Joy of Giving

Part of why I enjoy buying things with coupons and on sale is that I am able to give back to others much, much more than I used to be able to. Even though my budget is still the same, if not smaller, due to the husband still searching for a job,  and me being home with two little ones, I feel that I can share the bounty that I’ve been blessed with with those in need.

In these past 6 months alone I was able to donate over 1000 lbs of food (that I got for free after coupons and sales) to the local food bank and our church pantry! It was no small feat, and required many a night staying up organizing my coupons, planning out my strategic shopping trips and deal scenarios, actually buying the food, battling some of the cashiers that were not properly educated about the use and acceptance of coupons, and then delivering it all to our local food bank. The joy I got from seeing the faces of my kids when they were so excited to “go to the food bank to share all of this with others”, the faces of the food bank employees when I told them that I got all of this food by myself (when they asked me if I was holding a food drive or something), and ultimately the faces of those that I didn’t get to see, but who will be able to put food on their tables thanks to all the coupons I was able to use wisely. I am so happy!

Here are a few pictures from one of our many trips to the food bank. My son was so excited when after they weighed our donation, they asked him if he wanted to be weighed too 🙂 He even felt the need to clarify to the food bank employees that he was not part of the donation and neither was his baby brother, even if both of them got weighed there 🙂 And yes, as you will see in the pictures, I let him play with some of the cereal boxes (those boxes in the pictures are just a small part of all the boxes we were able to take). It’s not that he doesn’t have toys – when else would a child be able to build towers out of cereal boxes? 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Are you able to give to others when you get something for free at the store?

About simplemotherhood

My name is Irina. I blog over at https://simplemotherhood.wordpress.com/ about the joys and challenges of motherhood, reading, couponing and saving money, and everything from gardening, healthy living, and frugality to scrapbooking, menu planning, and tea parties. I enjoy decorating, organizing, and as of past year, homeschooling my sweet boys.
This entry was posted in couponing, frugal living, giving back. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

