Oh what a happy birthday it was!

This past Saturday was my 29th birthday, and I must tell you – it was a VERY strange day. Well, it started out nicely – my husband and older son cooked me breakfast and brought it to me in bed. But after that we went to Lowes (so that my preschooler could make a photo frame for my husband for Father’s Day during one of Lowes’ build and grow clinics), ended up spending too much time there, then went to Home Depot (can you tell I really dislike both of those stores!) Well, after we came out of Home Depot and got close to our car, husband just took 1 look at it and said: “Oh, happy birthday to you”. In about 2 seconds I could tell why he said it with sort of irony in his voice. One of my almost-brand-new tires was completely flat! My first thought was “let’s just drive on it to Town Fair tire (where they could repair the flat and rotate the tires) since it’s just down the road”. But he said that if we drive on it, we’d have to replace not only the tire, but the rim as well. I, being the frugal person I am, did not want to PAY for replacing the rim, so I had to reluctanly agree to him changing the tire, right then and there in the Home Depot parking lot… Oh yes, and I forgot to mention – the storm was just moving in and it was starting to rain. So fun! The best way to spend your birthday, right? 😉

Anyway, he changed it and here are the pictures of the process and the offending tire. Turns out, we picked up a nail right there in a parking lot, and it deflated the tire while we were in the store.

Putting on the spare

We ended up getting the tire fixed and all of them rotated (yay, more waiting on my birthday!). There was some silver lining as well – we went out to Outback Steakhouse for dinner and got dessert and a movie for the evening at home (we watched “Dear John”). So, that was my birthday in a nutshell.

About simplemotherhood

My name is Irina. I blog over at https://simplemotherhood.wordpress.com/ about the joys and challenges of motherhood, reading, couponing and saving money, and everything from gardening, healthy living, and frugality to scrapbooking, menu planning, and tea parties. I enjoy decorating, organizing, and as of past year, homeschooling my sweet boys.
This entry was posted in life as it comes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

