Frugality in action

I don’t normally post about my grocery-shopping days, but I was so excited today that I can’t not share it with all of you! I have always been about saving money on purchasing things, especially groceries, and have been clipping some coupons for the past 7 years or so, but have never been an avid coupon clipper who would score bargains that would practically make a grocery store pay her instead of her shelling out her hard-earned dollars for food items.

So this past week I decided to try it in a little more intense manner than I usually do. I always keep my eyes open for coupons anyway, but this time I went to coupons.com and various other websites, collecting, requesting, and printing out various coupons, then filing them and keeping them all organized. It was no small feat! Then last night, since I didn’t feel like planning a menu for this week (I am pretty good at just pulling meals together from my pantry shelves and freezers – that’s why I usually try to keep those well-stocked), I looked through the grocery store flyer for this week and marked the sale items that I would be interested in and for which I had coupons (that’s the best way to purchase whenever you can – combine store sales with manufacturer’s coupon and sometimes a store coupon on top of that too!) and made a plan to pretty much only buy those things that are on sale and I have coupons for. Keep in mind – that is not my normal weekly grocery trip and I didn’t need to buy a lot of groceries to make complete meals to round off the week. Also, some of these items (like canned soups) will last more than just this week, so they go towards restocking my pantry.

Would you like to know how I got $92.11 worth of brand-name (and some organic) food items for just $32.65 this week? If yes, please, keep reading.

Here’s the breakdown:

Red seedless grapes (regular price $2.49, on sale for $.99)   $6.69

Stop and Shop Garden Salad ($1.99 regular price, buy one, get one free) $1.99 for two, or about a dollar each, which makes it a really good deal

8-oz bags of various shredded cheeses, store brand (regular price $2.50, they were buy, one get one free), so I grabbed 4 bags for $5 total. That comes to only $1.25 per 8 oz. bag.

Healthy Choice Frozen entrees (regular price $2.79, on sale this week for $2, and I had 2 manufacturer’s coupons for $2 off/1). So that made both of them FREE!

Coffee-Mate creamers (regular price $2.50 for the small ones, on sale  BOGO, and I had a $.75 off/2 manufacturer’s coupon), so $1.75 for 2, or about $.88 each

Ronzoni Healthy Harvest Pasta (regular price 3/$5, on sale this week 3/$4, I had 2 manufacturer’s coupons for $1/off 2)  I grabbed 4 boxes for $3.33, or about $.83 each (for whole grain pasta that’s a great deal!)

Nature’s Promise Organic Flax and Grain Bread (normally $3.79, on sale this week for $2.50, and I had a store coupon for $1.50 off), so $1 total.

1-lb bag of peeled baby carrots (regular price $1.69 minus the store coupon for a free bag of baby carrots), so that makes it … well… FREE!

14-ct mini-boxes bag of Stop and Shop raisins (regular price $2 minus the store coupon for a free bag of those raisins), so they were FREE too!

Thai Kitchen rice noodle bowl (regular price $1.99, on sale for $1.25, and a manufacturer’s coupon for $1/off 1)

Dole Pineapple in Strawberry gel sugar-free desserts 4-packs (regular price $2.69. I got two of them, since I had 2 manufacturer’s coupons for $1/off 1 and a store coupon for $2/off 2, and they combined fine!), so the total for 2 of them was $1.38 or $.69 per 4-pack.

12 cans of Progresso Traditional Soups (I don’t usually buy these, unless they are on a good sale. Today was my lucky day, though, since they were buy 2 get 2 free. With a regular price of $2.50/can and this promotion, it put them at $1.25/can, and I added in 3 manufacturer’s coupons for $1.10/off 3 – and I was wishing I had a 4th one to round off my 12 soup cans).  I spent a total $11.70 for 12 cans or just $.97/can. If I had printed a 4th coupon, I could have used it and brought the price per can down to even $.88.

And I also got a 5-cent credit for each of my 9 reusable bags that I carry around with me every time.

Sweet deal, don’t you think? Like I mentioned this was probably the most money-saving grocery trip I’ve done in a very long time (money-saving in terms of the ratio of money spent/savings from this trip), that’s why I am so excited about it! I especially LOVE the things that I got completely FREE 🙂 That made me feel like all that time I spent coupon-finding and clipping wasn’t completely wasted.

How do you try to stay frugal? What are your money-saving strategies in the check-out line?

About simplemotherhood

My name is Irina. I blog over at https://simplemotherhood.wordpress.com/ about the joys and challenges of motherhood, our love of travel and how we manage to travel all around the world with 3 children. I also love reading, saving money, and everything from gardening, healthy living, and frugality to scrapbooking, menu planning, and tea parties. I enjoy decorating, organizing, and homeschooling my children.
This entry was posted in coupon trips, couponing, frugal living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugality in action

  1. Pingback: Coupons and savings « The Joys of Simple Motherhood

Leave a Reply

